The cup victory which sparked a new era

by | Thursday April 16th 2020 | Cricket, The Vault

Here is a photo that signified a turnaround in Prestwich CC first team fortunes, paving the way for a series of league titles and cup successes this century.

Having last won the Walkden Cup in 1933, the 1st XI beat Glossop in an epic final at The Heys in the year 2000.

Pictured celebrating, from left to right, are: (back row) Paul Mercer, scorer Bob Hinchliffe, Colin Higginson, Andy Bradley, Andy Taylor, Matt Walsh, Chris Humphreys; (front row) wicketkeeper Gareth Barnes, Danny Varney, captain Steve Orrell, Carl Hey, professional Craig Duxbury, Jon O’Connor.