2003 – Hulme Trophy Final gallery

by | Wednesday November 23rd 2022 | Cricket, The Vault

We’ve gone back to 2003 when Prestwich 2XI retained the Hulme Trophy following a 57 run win over Denton St Lawrence at Heys Road.

A.J. Taylor put in a man-of-the-match performance scoring 71 with Gareth Barnes also adding significant runs to the total with 59.

Dave Sandiford was the pick of the Prestwich attack taking 4 wickets while Chris Thomas collected the ‘Magic Moment’ award for what we think was his involvement in one of the DSL tail run-outs.

This was our third success in the Hulme Trophy following wins in 1984 and 2002. Captain Pete Hey would go on to make it a personal quadruple of Hulme Trophy titles with more victories in 2004 and 2005.

Prestwich would then win it on a further two occasions (2007 and one shared with Denton in 2008) before the competition was retired in 2015 following the formation of the Greater Manchester Cricket League.

Prestwich 2XI 242-7 (Taylor 71, Barnes 59); Denton St Lawrence 185ao (Sandiford 4-42)

Pics by Martin Ogden