2010 – LCL record breakers

by | Wednesday February 8th 2023 | Cricket, The Vault

Prestwich 2XI claimed the Lancashire County League Division Two Championship back in 2010 not only by a record margin but with also a record points tally and a record number of outright five-point wins.

With that they were later named by unanimous choice the Lancashire County League Team of the Year.

And although the weather got the better of their final game of the season away at Woodbank, John Fiorentini’s side chalked up 20 outright wins, 3 four-point wins, 2 abandonments and just a single defeat to finish with a massive 116 points.

(Back l-r) J Haslam (Scorer), A Cheshire, P Lorenzini, N Carter, L Johnston, D Montgomery, M Walsh. (Front) T Gibson, J McAndrew, J O’Connor, J Fiorentini, J Scargill

Writing in the programme ahead of the final day of the season, Fiorentini expressed his pride at captaining such a fantastic team.

“Unusually for a championship winning side, no individual has starred or excelled ahead of their team mates. Whilst it may appear a cliché, our success has occurred as a result of an all-round team performance which has seen every person who has played contribute to the victories we have achieved.

“Each match a different person has taken up the mantle of responsibility of ensuring that we maintained our position and our success is testament to their positive mentality and approach.”